Seven tracks

I’ve been tagged by Zoom over at KnitNut to sing seven songs for you. I do love to sing. I’m not very good but that doesn’t stop me. Bruce, for one, enjoys it.

Wait. I just checked again and it turns out I’m not supposed to sing them, I just have to list seven songs I’ve been listening to lately. Too bad. I was looking forward to the singing part.

These are the instructions:

“List seven songs you are into right now. It doesn’t matter what the genre, whether they have words, or even if they’re any good, but they must be songs you’re really enjoying now, shaping your spring/summer. Post these instructions in your blog along with your seven songs. Then tag seven other people to see what they’re listening to.”

I’ve now read them properly, but I must make it known that I’m notoriously poor at following instructions.

I’ve not been spending much money on CDs lately. I rarely come across something I want to listen to. I am moved by great music, but bored by the average. I keep trying things like Last.FM, but I always end up with crap. There must be a better way! Maybe if I properly figured out their site. But why should that be up to me? I don’t have the patience.

I do have a couple of tracks for you though.

MGMT: Electric Feel, from Oracular Spectacular:
There’s something about this track that wakes me up and gets me excited about being here. It’s very much a me-song, a groove that zaps me with intent. I’ve not really even listened to the lyrics; the sound and the groove are what do it.
The discovery of exciting new bands like this one can reveal new facets of my personality. I become passionate and inspired. I become more fluid, interested once more in the possibility of change, even salvation.
Listen to a sample here.

Neko Case: Star Witness, from Fox Confessor Brings The Flood:
Completely different from the first one, but good God, this is sublime. The lyrics are haunting poetry, full of imagery, emotion, joy and loss. There’s all sorts of gems in here. The drums are sweet, recorded perfectly, providing ambiance, holding back the ethereal keyboard and the big surf guitar. Her voice, her inflection, her soaring dovetails. Everything flows: passion… and relax. They took their time building this song and it shows. Like good poetry, it leaves room for the listener.

Roxy Music: If There is Something, from Roxy Music:
A beauty. Starts off with a country feel, the bass and drums all happy, but then the sax and the guitar start flirting and spooning in a way I’ve not heard before (or since).
“I would climb mountains… swim the ocean blue…” He’s almost yodeling. There’s an urgency here, tempered with craftsmanship.

Penguin Café Orchestra, Music from the Penguin Café:
A combination of classical, folk, and rock. I’d love to make music like this. The production is just how I like it – big, warm, and messy. Imagine what it sounds like on Vinyl!

This concludes my music lesson for today. I am now standing by for more musical suggestions.

1 Response to “Seven tracks”


  1. 1 sharon July 8, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    Hockey Cockey

    A timeless classic. As Master Bruce will testify, the anticipation and build up to the chorus is often more thrilling than the chorus itself. There would also appear to be cultural variations with this one, a true Scottish feel with “SEE” being shouted inbetween the famous chorus, as was pointed out by our American teacher friend from the baby signing class.

    Dingle Dangle Scarecrow

    Perhaps it’s mums all signing and dancing act which Bruce finds more amusing with this one as opposed to the song itself. Nevertheless enjoyed immensely by all, time after time after time after time… A true signing song gem.

    MummyZRX (on the behalf of Baby Bruce)


Leave a comment




Pages

Categories